“many adults today still cannot read or write. in what ways are they disadvantaged?

A debate over how to improve the situation of the people who are struggling with illiteracy in our modern society, despite we have a better education system. In my essay, I will portray the drawbacks of adults who cannot read or write and what government can do for them. Firstly, illiteracy can result in poor living. Illiterate people are at a significant disadvantage in terms of seeking opportunities in the workforce market. This is because many jobs require basic literacy skills. If you cannot read or write,you only are limited to low-paying and insecure jobs. Under this situation, some unfair issues will arise, such as poverty, social exclusion, and other forms of disadvantage. Secondly, adults with poor literacy skills may find it difficult to access important services, such as healthcare, legal services, and financial services. For example, when they go to the hospital, they are unable to express their illness successfully, which causes them not to receive the proper treatment. Meanwhile, they might lack legal information which contributes to engaging in criminal events. Both of these can lead to misunderstanding their rights and responsibilities, leaving them vulnerable to exploitation and disadvantage. In conclusion, I reaffirm my position that adults who lack literacy not only are hard to afford life but also even are not allowed to enjoy ordinary public services.