The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The question of whether science should focus on improving human well-being has sparked much debate. Some believe that the primary aim of science is to enhance the quality of life, while others argue that research should be directed towards other fields of science. I personally strongly agree with the former point of view. One of the most compelling arguments to justify my perspective is that discoveries that improve human life help to overcome the challenges that society faces today, such as various diseases, overpopulation, and pollution. As a result, this research leads to longer life expectancy and provides opportunities to enjoy life enriched by technological and medical advancements. For example, in 2019, scientists overcame the COVID-19 pandemic by developing a vaccine that saved many lives. Another significant factor in enhancing individual well-being is the improvement of children's fundamental knowledge. Due to technological advancements, young people have become more aware of scientific research in fields such as physics, biology, and chemistry. This, in turn, leads to the development of creative and problem-solving skills. Furthermore, children acquire greater knowledge of nutrition and overall well-being. For instance, understanding more about biology allows young people to lead healthier lifestyles. To conclude, although there are many other fields for discovery today, I believe that focusing on human well-being should be a priority in order to improve quality of life and foundational knowledge.