In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

It is true that in some parts of our world people are pursuing buying their own homes rather than renting them. There are various reasons to explain why this is the case. In my opinion, this trend could lead to more drawbacks than positives. The trend towards buying rather than renting can be traced back to three main reasons. First of all, in many countries, it is widely acknowledged that buying one's own home is an indicator of financial power or a symbol of social status. For example, people hardly ever hear that an entrepreneur pays monthly rent for his apartment. Secondly, owning a home means that the house belongs entirely to you, which builds a sense of security as one does not need to worry about whether the landlady will decide to cancel the contract the next day. Furthermore, people are now also keen on housing investment, so owning a home can also be considered a result of economic factors. I would argue that buying a home rather than renting could bring more disadvantages in a predictable future. There is no denying that this can lead to a boost in the economy as we have more currency in our markets. However, it can place an extra burden and unnecessary stress on people living in these countries. In some cultures, one of the prerequisites for marriage is the purchase of a new home for the couple themselves. This requirement and the ensuing series of disputes can even ruin the relationship. Besides, when people own their own homes in a certain place, they are more likely to be fixed there and thereby lose more possibilities, which I find actually a pity. In conclusion, a number of factors account for the current prevalence of buying homes. Personally, I regard it as a more negative phenomenon due to the problems it can cause.