Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

Getting a job or work is considered one of the biggest achievements in someone’s life. Most people’s lives are improved when they start working and are no longer dependent on another person. However, most individuals hate what they are doing but continue pursuing the same career throughout their entire life. In this essay, I describe the reasons why most people don’t enjoy their work and as well explain the potential consequences of such a situation. One of the main reasons why individuals hate their professions is due to the wrong choice of subjects or courses at the University. Most of the students are forced by their parents to take up subjects that are likely to pay them high financial rewards after school. However, such students may not have an interest in the courses or may even not have the ability to succeed in their chosen field. For example, A principal who owns a school may force his son/daughter to do education at the University just because they can easily find a teaching position in his school, yet the student has a passion for banking. In addition, some people are misguided as they lack mentors to help them make the right decisions. The other reason causing unhappiness in professions could be limited or lack of opportunities in their desired fields. Most individuals especially graduates fail to find opportunities in their field of study and therefore will end up doing any available opportunity in order to earn a living. Getting involved in work that you do not enjoy has some negative outcomes, one of which is low productivity. Individuals are likely to be less efficient and motivated when they get involved in work they don’t enjoy. This is partly because they prefer to dedicate their time and energy to other things they are interested in than their actual task. In addition, doing something you do not love may result in depression and anxiety which ultimately leads to health mental problems. In conclusion, generally working improves someone’s life. However, students should,especially at the University be encouraged to choose study programs that they are either interested in or have talent in that field as their choices are likely to, determine their future careers. This will eventually reduce the negative consequences associated with this situation such as depression and anxiety.