In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It doesn't seem like a surprise to anyone that small, family-owned stores traditionally located in busy neighbourhoods and high streets are gradually losing their customers. Modern consumers are more prone to comprehensive shopping in one of the trendy malls which have recently appeared in every major city. I doubt we could confidently specify it as either a purely positive or negative development as I will describe the situation from different perspectives in the main paragraphs of this essay. Let us consider the issue from the point of view of an average customer. As a buyer, we traditionally appreciate a few essential features while shopping - we would like to be able to purchase the full list of what we are looking for at one facility and for a minimal price. Larger chain stores, especially those selling foods, often try to attract new customers with the help of a discount programme or so-called "special offers". As far as I am concerned, the majority of buyers do notice such "bargains" and are happy to benefit from them and save extra money. As a rule, a large shopping mall has more opportunities to offer competitive prices than a small local shop - therefore, from this perspective, it provides more incentives to deliberate consumers. On the other hand, the owners of small local shops are entrepreneurs who organize their own economical activity, creating additional workplaces and renting business properties in residential areas in the process. When their business becomes unprofitable, they are forced to close down and search for alternative sources of earning a living. As a result, the unwanted store amenities lose tenants and after some time the complexes of such properties may turn into abandoned buildings, further deteriorating business prospects and the general appearance of the given neighbourhood. In conclusion to my essay, I would like to say that from the perspective of a customer, larger shopping malls with decreased prices are more convenient and beneficial than small stores with a limited assortment in the neighbourhood. However, for the shop owner who risks losing her livelihood, the trend of shopping malls poses an existential threat.