Government should make more effort to promote alternative sources of energy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Given reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, clean technology development has been growing on a large scale. I firmly agree that The Government should accelerate the energy transition from fossil fuel to renewable energy. There are several reasons involved in addressing climate change impact and the government as the catalyst of the energy transition. To begin with, in 2015 Many countries, particularly Indonesia, committed to gaining net zero emissions to cope with climate change problems that have a bad impact on the earth. The problems are public health, food security, and increasing water sea levels. Consequently, one of the biggest problems is public health. It is caused by air pollution from conventional power generation. For instance, In the Jabodetabek area, the number of people who suffer from respiratory diseases such as pneumonia, asthma, and lung cancer is up to 100.000. Additionally, Indonesia ranked 6th as a nation which contributes to carbon emissions because mostly power generation uses fossil fuels such as (coal, gas and gasoline). Moreover, according to statistical data, Indonesia has a huge potential of around 20 Giga Watt to implement renewable energy power plants by using wind, solar panels, micro-hydro and geothermal. For Instance, the Ministry of Resource of Minerals namely Bahlil has the power to push stakeholders (energy companies, other ministries, citizens) using national energy policy. To conclude, the large potential of renewable resources should be encouraged by the government. As a result, using the power of the government to implement a quick energy policy in the nation and cope with climate change’s effects.