Many animals are endangered in the environment. Some people argue that we should only protect those endangered animals that are useful to human. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When it comes to endangered animal protection, some people claim that only endangered species which can provide various benefits are supposed to be protected. I oppose this view and believe that all endangered creatures should be protected. It can’t be denied that endangered animals that are of some practical usefulness ought to be preserved as human beings can directly benefit a lot from their existence. For example, the giant panda, the national treasure of China, is widely loved by people around the world. Every year, countless tourists spend money on going to zoos to visit these adorable bears,enjoying watching their charming naivety. Moreover, because of its popularity, China is asked to sign agreements with many countries to lease pandas to them, and this makes the panda one of the important symbols of friendly relationships with China. However, it doesn’t mean that other animals that face the danger of extinction should be excluded from conservation. In the long term, to safeguard these species is also to protect human beings. This is because the ecosystem consisting of many species has evolved to be a complex whole.Just like a sophisticated machine, every component plays a significant role in this system. Animals are not isolated but related to each other and so the disappearance of any one of them may lead to unpredictable negative impacts on the remaining others, including human beings. For instance, it seems that wolves do no good or even harm to human beings, since they may attack livestock. But when people decimate them, some wild herbivores such as deer will boost in numbers due to the lack of natural predators. As a result, they gradually do not have enough food to eat so they begin to find extra food like bark, which leads to the further destruction of the environment. In conclusion, when we face the problem of creature conservation, it is true that useful endangered animals deserve our efforts of preservation. Yet biodiversity should also be considered as a result of the integrity of the ecosystem, taking account of the long-term interests of ourselves.