In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some cultures, it is a common opinion that children can achieve anything if they strive enough. This essay will analyze this concept's benefits and drawbacks as follows. On the one hand, many countries, especially in the West, think that this message has a significant benefit for offspring because it provides positive information. For instance, many mental experts indicate that cultivating positive emotions in childhood may have more chance of becoming successful. Furthermore, trying hard to confront unknown challenges is another vitally important factor in being an outstanding adult. Therefore, these advantages can help children become independent, judicious, and other beneficial elements. On the other hand, although consistently implanting this concept can indeed provide some benefits, certain potential detriments are not perceived by parents. For example, frustration is a serious problem. If offspring usually fail in something such as poor grades despite that they have worked hard, they might feel more frustrated, and ultimately give to study. A typical example is learning a second language, while pupils pay a considerate amount of attention to learning it, they still cannot absorb foreign knowledge. In this case, students continuously suffer from frustration, fall into a vicious cycle, and eventually do not try anymore. To sum up, being taught that striving for something will order a repayment can indeed help pupils establish a healthy attitude to face difficulties, thereby becoming successful. However, the information may have some risks. Learning exotic languages is a wider example. With gradually accumulating negative emotions, students may not strive with challenges and decrease their salients to learn and finally give up their subjects.