At present time the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults compared with the number of old people.Do the advantages of this situation outwiegh the disadvantages?

In recent times, there has been an increase in the population of younger people. Such a trend can be observed in many countries. When a country has a greater young community it can perform better with the knowledge of the older community. There are both merits and demerits to this phenomenon. This essay will evaluate both with relevant examples. One of the major benefits of countries having a higher number of younger citizens is the greater workforce. A country's economy is completely dependent on its workforce. For example, countries like India have a higher young population in such places higher investments can be observed. When there are more investments this will help in increasing the GDP of a country. Another merit of this is the energy of the workforce. Young folk have more energy when compared to older ones. For instance, a recent study indicates that folk under 30 can work for more than 8 hours a day and at the same time older people can work up to 6 hours a day. This will help the labour pool work for a longer period of time and deliver tasks at a brisk pace. There are drawbacks to this as well. One of the demerits is the experience. Older ones have lived for a longer time and have more experience. To illustrate, a recent survey has shown that when both were given the same problem older ones were able to solve it better than the others. This knowledge should be used properly. Thus, this will help in providing better solutions. To conclude, the younger society has more energy and strength when compared to the older society. However, the older population has more experience and completes tasks faster and better. Hence, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.