Environmental problems are too big for individual countries and individual persons to address. In other words, we have reached the stage where the only way to protect the environment is at the international level. To what extents do you agree or disagree?

Ecological challenges have become life-threatening calamities for a few decades, which are associated with human activities resulting in greenhouse gas emissions such as CO2. While some believe that they must be tackled with a global attempt, I disagree with the notion and presume that the onus is both on the governments and citizens to take steps and solve the problem due to the fact that they can reduce a large proportion of carbon emissions. On the one hand, individuals would play a pivotal role in preserving the environment. A great amount of carbon dioxide is generated by fossil-fuel cars used by people on a daily basis and if they managed to stop driving and utilize public transport such as buses and trains, they would decrease their carbon footprints. Swedish residents are a case in point. Not only are they aware of their instrumental effects, but they have also already taken some precious actions wholeheartedly, one of which is that they have abandoned their private vehicles and, instead, make use of public bicycles rented throughout the city. Consequently, Sweden has become a green metropolis so the indigenous population enjoy living there. Therefore everybody is responsible in this case. On the other hand, the government could help to mitigate the issue. Firstly, it can enforce society to pay more taxes if they persist in using their automobiles, which would act as a deterrent. Secondly, it can regulate the companies contaminating nature by spurring them to be run with much more eco-friendly energies. A bright example would be Swedish authorities and decision-makers who have precisely implemented carbon-neutral policies and have good reputations in terms of sustainability as they have accelerated the way people transport by adding fast and convenient means of transportation such as driverless taxis and buses operated by more environmentally-friendly hydrogen. Hence, the imminent catastrophe could be prevented by the government. In conclusion, the environment can be conserved by humankind as we ourselves are destroying it and if we were not dismissive of our surrounding nature, there would not be any need for the global congregation.