Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that states should allow each person to have access to free education at universities regardless of their financial status. I completely disagree with this view since this may bring drawbacks on governmental and individual levels. Governments can heavily suffer from this approach financially. In other words, much amount of money can be spent on the merely educational fields while other ones can be overlooked or denied if everyone can enter university for no charge. As a result, a financial imbalance can emerge in the economy of a country which can cause many challenges, such as economic repercussions, and poor infrastructure. Another factor to consider is private enterprises. They, as a rule, prepare high school graduates to enter universities, but if standardized exams are no longer needed, otherwise there will be no need for students to come to learning centres and prepare. Consequently, most learning complexes can go bankrupt and close down as well, which can lead to a lack of interest and businessmen in the education sphere. Furthermore, people, especially abiturients, can also face some challenges unless the university is expensive. That is, they cannot experience real exam competition among their peers and other people since entry to university is free. Consequently, they can feel a sense of artificial achievement and may not be proud as those who could pass university exams. On top of this, if everyone can do a degree for free, otherwise university officials cannot identify prospective students from non-prospective ones. To be more precise, annually each university arranges exams or requires standardized tests, such as IELTS, TOEFL, and SAT, from students so that they can fit their primary requirements. However, if states make university education free, as a result, the education environment can be worsened and graduates cannot live up to university expectations. To conclude, I firmly believe universities should not be subsidized by officials since both states and people can face difficulties, such as financial and emotional ones.