In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people hold the view that in the foreseeable future, we will no longer buy reading material in paper form because of the rapid development of technology and free access to these materials. I would argue that the print format should not be absolutely replaced, and even the online version ought not to be 100% free. It is true that reading newspapers, magazines and books online could be a continuously prevalent trend because of its great convenience. People can read everything on their phones, tablets or laptops whenever they want, for example, during their commute, on a trip, etc. However, I don't think that reading in paper form is replaceable. There will always be people who appreciate the weight of books, the texture of paper and the smell of ink. Therefore, I advocate that people should have different approaches to reading and be entitled to make their own decisions regarding their preferable formats. In addition, reading on paper is much less likely to be detrimental to our eyesight, which is especially vital for children, teenagers and the elderly. I disagree with the argument that digital reading materials should be available without payment. Online reading is eco-friendly as trees do not need to be cut down and manufactured into paper. Labour costs are also lower, so in these aspects, prices can be reduced accordingly. Nevertheless, authors still give their time and effort, contributing their thoughts and feelings to their work. This is priceless, so at least their work should not be 100% free. In conclusion, I support the emergence of using digital forms in reading, while it is a human right to choose the form they prefer and the materials should be paid for, even if it is an online version.