You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree? You should write at least 254 words.

News reports are notorious for giving unequal weightage to the portrayal of positive stories and negative ones. This is now the pivot of the debate concerning whether this primary focus on horrible stories is more harmful to individuals and society or vice versa. While such a tendency to cover bad news does propagate a negative mindset within a community, I only partially agree that it is solely damaging for the community and attribute my opinion to the fact that on the other hand, telecasting such reports raises awareness too, ultimately leading to the progress of the society. Our mindsets nowadays are influenced tremendously by media and seeing more pessimistic mastheads in newspapers inevitably ingrains negativity in the audience. People could begin to believe that the countless problems being exposed by the media speak volumes about the irreparability of the world. Thus, there are reasons to believe that featuring a higher number of shocking news is destructive for society. Not to mention, it may even trigger a societal regression. Unfortunately, in many contemporary cases, crime news reports have popularised some murderous acts, increasing the number of serial killers to a record number today. However, it is irrefragable that portraying such gloom-ridden cases also plays a role in alerting our society. A write-up on a country's greatest establishment may fill its citizens with pride but it is because of these horrid media reports that we are now more aware of the various mishaps occurring around the world. In the long run, this will encourage governments across the globe to take a step towards resolving some of the most worrisome present-day issues. To cite an example, after repeated news casting female feticide and daughters in India being refused the right to education, the Indian Prime Minister started a campaign that aimed to empower girls within the nation. In conclusion, it is evident that news reporters have an inclination towards capturing more problematic issues as opposed to positive developments, which both benefits and harm an individual and their surrounding community to some extent. For this very reason, I only partly agree that the higher proportion of bad news in newspaper reports harms society.