Research into new types of medicine is essential to improve health and deal with disease. Who do you think should fund this research- private companies, individuals, or governments?

The advancement of medicine brings a positive impact on healthcare in improving health and dealing with diseases. That brings us to think about who should fund this kind of research- a private company, an individual or the government? I would argue that conducting medical research is enormously expensive, time-consuming and involves tremendous effort and patience, secured funding is crucial. Government, as we know it, the money allocated for medical are limited and its' resources relies only upon the tax of wealthy individual or companies, making them financially incapable of attending the long-term project. On the other hand, there are those who can afford such funding and are well-established in this type of business, like Elon Musk, Glaxo-Smith, and Pfizer, since they have all the means and are well-versed in the medical research industries. Albeit, the produce medication and medical innovation will be pricey for those in the marginalised community. However, I believed that, if the government will create policies in controlling drug prices in the market, this will make a difference. This would allow the government to interfere with their pricing if it is unreasonably high. In the Philippines, for instance, it's been a contention for a while about the high-price drug in the market, due to the effort of the officials in the senate the policy was pushed through resulting in the approval of the bill that mandated private companies or individually own pharmaceutical company to reduce the drug price in the market. In conclusion, I would argue that it should be done by private companies or individuals who are capable to do long term and expensive research, however, I acknowledged the role of the government plays a vital role in creating policies that intervene in the reduction of drug pricing, as this benefit many people in all sector.