You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. You should write at least 254 words.

Increasing crime rates have been a longstanding cause of worry across multiple nations. In response to this endless state of concern, the public stands divided in their opinions on reducing crime rates. While some advocate longer prison sentences, others contend that there are better alternatives for curtailing crimes. I personally agree with the latter view and this essay aims to explore both the aforementioned viewpoints, ultimately showcasing my reasons for siding with the second one more strongly. Firstly, there are justified reasons for suggesting a prolonged sentence in jail for criminals. The rationale that tops the list is that life in jail is full of strictures, drudgery, and pitiless punishments. Proponents of the extended imprisonment strategy believe that criminals subjected to these harsh conditions would naturally reform themselves out of fear of having to live through such an experience again. However, I disagree with such a standpoint because being mercilessly punished in incarceration doesn't necessarily fully transform the criminal mentality of the offender. At most, it may pent up more frustration and anger, causing the individual to become more aggressive in society when released from prison. To cite an example, many TV shows featuring real-life events portray villains coming out of jail with a stronger vengeful urge, following which they go on to commit more heinous acts. In fact, many countries have strict imprisonment laws for sex offenders despite which the sexual crime rates have witnessed an incremental trend. On the other hand, a good proportion of the population has started pointing out alternatives to jailing lawbreakers and deem those as better ways of curbing crimes. One of the most popular suggestions is the introduction of a rehabilitation system, where a culprit is made to serve a shorter time in jail post which they are made to engage in social activities for a designated period of time. Another proposal is that the Government itself should ensure a satisfactory standard of living in a nation to prevent anyone from resorting to crime out of compulsion. I highly agree with these strategies as they go a long way in restructuring a criminal's social conduct, mindset and awareness, making them more responsible towards the community. Many countries have been exemplary in accepting such methods too. For instance, Singapore has been cited in numerous newspapers and youtube vlogs as one of the safest countries in the world, the low crime rates are attributed to the fulfilling quality of life the Government has ensured for the country's residents. Additionally, many police officers in the United Kingdom have begun supporting the idea of a social reform system being incorporated within the judicial sentences for criminals. This has also proven to reduce crime rates effectively. In conclusion, although there is a prevailing debate about the optimum way of triggering a decline in crime rates globally, I personally advocate the view that there are better and other ways to achieve that aim in contrast to extending an offender's time behind the bars.