Shopping is the favorite pastime for most of young people. Why do you think is that? Do you think they should be encouraged to do some other useful activities?

Often shopping is considered a form of waste of time, but it is maybe the most common and less toxic way to get out of our stressful routine, and not only for a juvenile. While someone could relax by drinking a bottle of wine, others could prefer spend money on useless objects in order to have a moment of fun. We should not criminalize this behaviour, it is strictly linked to our nature as human beings First of all, I think we do have not a moral duty to do always something useful. We cannot avoid our need for free time, nevertheless I think this is also a way to increase our productivity at work. We have to coercively separate our time in the office from the time we can spend even in shopping centres. However, we cannot do in every moment something due to raising our capability as workers. Consequently, it is obvious that most people want to spend the money coming from their labour with the only aim to have the instant gratification from hours and hours spent looking at a computer. Hence, for instance, the desire of my mother, who is been working for 30 years as a teacher, to buy a new pair of shoes is absolutely understandable. In conclusion, we cannot knock down on working for all our time: the more you work, the more you are stressed. We need free time, even spent shopping, in order to have a better life. We all have to brush up on how to have a healthy and equilibrated life.