The government has the responsibility to ensure the safety of its citizens. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

Some people think that the government is highly responsible for ensuring the safety of the people in its own country and while speaking on this opinion they offer the solution by increasing the expenditure on defence instead of social benefits. In my personal opinion, I do not entirely agree with this statement. First of all, providing social benefits is the most direct and important way to support one's country's citizens. To be more specific, social benefits can include health insurance, children's school fees, free means of transportation, allowances for unemployed people and so on. Therefore, cutting down that kind of spending or lacking basic support can lead to an unbalanced society and many social problems even so. The truth is that the safety of a country is also the safety of its citizens, however, there are many ways to ensure a country's stability. For example, a government's political views and skills in communicating with other countries are also key factors to protect the country and maintain peace without any defence or violent weapons involved. In reality, there are many safe and peaceful countries even when they do not spend a ton of money on the army and defence. On the other hand, a good and supportive government should be able to balance its own expense distribution, whether it is on social aid or protecting the country. As a result, living in a comfortable society can boost the citizens ' motivation to work and develop their homeland situation. In conclusion, I personally think that not any of the governments should spend less on social benefits for their citizens.