What do you believe is the most important problem facing the world today? Why is it the most important? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, our planet and society are facing multiple economic, political, and environmental issues. However, there are doubts concerning which one of them is the most significant. In this essay, I will discuss how temperature and precipitation variations associated with climate change are the most relevant problem for the world today due to their concerning impacts on humanity´s wellness. Firstly, global surface temperature increase is one of the clearest impacts of climate change. In the last century, several studies have highlighted that the global temperature has increased between 2 and 4°C in comparison to the pre-industrial period (1850-1900). In particular, the north pole and mountain areas are between the zones that have exhibited higher temperature anomalies. This is relevant for the planet because the ice and snow melting over those regions are raising ocean levels, which would be impracticable to live in many coastal places. For instance, an ocean level increase of 30 centimetres may result in floods for many cities like Miami and New York, thus impacting significantly millions of their inhabitants in the future. Secondly, climate change is also leading to less frequent but more intensive precipitation events compromising ecosystems stability and water supply for multiple socio-economical activities. Indeed, water is an essential natural resource for economic development, human well-being, and ecosystem dynamics mainly in areas with higher water scarcity or insecurity such as arid regions. In this sense, it is important to highlight that most of the global population lives in these areas, thus depending directly on their resources. The record droughts in California and Amazonia are good examples. During the last ten years, California has exhibited the lowest precipitations in the last 500 years. In the case of Amazonia during the years 2005 and 2010, wildfires destroyed millions of square kilometres of tropical forest, which is a fundamental ecosystem for the Earth’s system stability. Nevertheless, while these regions have shown less moisture, other countries like Pakistan reported exceptional floods in 2022. These examples demonstrate how climate alterations are changing global climate conditions and increasing the risk of humans to extreme climatic events. In summary, climate change is the most relevant challenge that our planet is facing currently because its impacts on temperature and precipitation regime could compromise the planet’s stability and the well-being of millions of thousand persons around the world.