A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Do the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

There are two different views on the positive or negative impact tourism has on places. In my opinion, I firmly believe that the economic benefits created by this tourism and the intangible benefits related to other cultures, traditions or languages outweigh the possible drawbacks. A major advantage of tourism is related to its economic impact. It is well known that tourists are one of the main sources of income in several countries. In addition, these sums of money generated by tourism have a direct impact on the country's economy, increasing the economic power of the state. For instance, Spain’s economy depends on tourism and during the coronavirus, many businesses related to tourism had to close. Moreover, millions of people work in tourism -related jobs, and if these tourism rates decrease, unemployment rates will increase, leading to higher poverty rates. Another relevant benefit is the possibility of increasing people’s knowledge of intangible heritage. When people travel, they discover new places, new cultures and other languages which increase their personal experiences, which they then share with their family and friends. For instance, thanks to these connections many people have changed their residence after visiting another country and falling in love with it. Non-material heritage is one of the greatest benefits that tourism can preserve, resulting in a plural world, where everybody has the possibility to discover other countries. To conclude, for some time now there have been two perspectives on the impact of tourism. In my opinion, I support that the economic benefits generated through tourism and the preservation of intangible heritage outweigh the possible disadvantages that may be created. Governments should protect tourism in order to manage the sector properly, increasing the benefits and reducing or solving the problems