Some people think zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, some people think zoos can help protect the rare animals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, an increasing number of animals could be found in zoos. While many people argue that zoos can help preserve endangered species, others believe that these facilities are cruel and should be out of business. In the following essay, I am going to discuss both sides of the argument and state my own view on this matter. On one hand, a lot of people state that zoos are malicious and should be closed. This is due to the fact that animals which are raised and held in captive environments cannot fully develop since they lack a suitable natural habitat to thrive and hone their primal skills such as hunting, while the encaged space in which they live also restricts their movements. Taking a carnivore such as a lion as an example, its hunting skills will be dull compared to its wild counterparts, after years locked in a cage, and if it is released into the wild, there is a big chance that it is going to starve. On the other hand, zoos can serve as a place to preserve rare animals which are close to the verge of extinction. Simply put, rare species are put under strict supervision by humans to prevent them from dying out, which can be done by carefully researching animals ’ activities and habits, as well as providing nutritious meals to help them improve their health. For instance, in China, pandas are specially taken care of to make sure their health is always in proper condition, and the government is spending a huge effort to increase the number of pandas. In conclusion, while some zoos are undoubtedly negative towards animals since they do not spend any effort in improving the living conditions of species that are held captive, many other zoos are doing their best to preserve exotic animals by providing nutrient diets and suitable habitats. I believe though there are many adversaries, zoos should remain open to help protect endangered wildlife.