Nowadays, as a part of education process, students work at a company for a short period of time without pay. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

We are presently living in the twenty-first century which is recognised for evolution in both technologies as well as social norms. Optimal use of the existing Human Resources is a major concern in both developed as well as developing nations. The rapid growth of the human population has increased the number of pupils who are ready to take up employment with various companies for a limited span in absence of remuneration. A plethora of people are curious about the benefit of the same and I intend to highlight them in this essay. Firstly students are strangers to the cultures and work methodologies of MNCs until and unless they join the workforce. A job even as an intern exposes them to the vast ocean of the corporate world. They may start their day making photocopies or distributing leaflets but they will get an opportunity to participate in various meetings that can enlighten them about the functioning of different branches of a company, including the method they are using for sourcing raw materials or how they are delivering the finished good to various vendors. For instance, my first job was making cold calls for selling credit cards for a bank. I was advised by my professor to join the programme to get over my shyness so that I can perform well in interviews. The positive result made me forget the fact that I was an unpaid employee. Another reason why I believe students should be more focused on the work at the office instead of the scenario that they are unpaid is that these companies often give opportunities to them for showcasing their skills which can be improvised later and put in their resume. This is helpful later when they are applying for jobs after college. Any hiring manager will prefer a candidate with work experience even as less as preparing a dashboard and may be ready to pay a higher salary in comparison to his counterparts. This hike in remuneration is often considerably higher that the wage that he could have expected in any other company during his job while studying. To conclude, I believe assessments should be done to investigate the qualities that students lack in a periodic manner and then they should be motivated to take up jobs with companies for improving themselves so that they can pass out of college as better human beings.