Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

A huge number of undergraduates opt for studying at academic institutions that are far away from their hometowns. Although this decision can cost students a certain amount of money at first, I believe that such an approach can offer more benefits because it instils a sense of independence in these students. Studying at colleges and universities which are far away from the places where students were brought up requires a huge initial financial investment from the students. Besides tuition fees, students have to pay for room and board and other necessities when they relocate to major cities, and, as a result, they may have to devote a considerable amount of their time to landing a part-time or full-time job, which may distract them from their studies. For instance, hundreds of freshmen and sophomores in Vietnam become university dropouts every year due to their inability to afford further education or being too absorbed in earning their daily living. However, I believe that this negative side of distant tertiary education can be mitigated by the merits it offers. Attending far-flung colleges or universities can help students to become more independent individuals. This is because when they are left to their own devices in a new academic setting, they have to cater for themselves in terms of accommodation, tuition fees and healthcare without their parent’s assistance. It is this lack of parental support that leaves them no choice but to be less reliant on their loved ones at home and gain more autonomy to both cope with daily problems and fare well at university. For example, thousands of Vietnamese students from many provinces who travel to Hochiminh City and Hanoi every new academic year can adapt themselves and become independent citizens in the new environment. By the time they become university graduates, they will have embraced their newfound independence, which is a desirable attribute that every employer looks for. Therefore, I would argue that the benefits of studying away from home are more significant than the drawbacks. In conclusion, although attending further education in far-off areas may be costly at first to some, it is really worth the effort and good value for money as it helps turn students into independent members of any organization. Therefore, I am of the opinion that there are more advantages than disadvantages to learning in distant but modern regions of a country.