In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shipping. Is this a positive or a negative ?

These days, it is believed by many that the tendency of travelling to large shopping malls has yielded the closure of small domestic stores. I firmly believe that such a trend has detrimental impacts on consumers and business owners for a number of reasons. The first and also the most crucial demerit relates to financial predicaments. When the overwhelming majority of consumers opt for purchasing from large shops, limited-income stores would definitely become overwhelmed with debts as a result of the reduction in purchasing power and profit margins in these developing stores. In Egypt, for instance, the increasing popularity of universal brand names such as US Polo and Zara has yielded the termination of many local stores in the countryside which has jeopardized the financial status of many Egyptian families. One further drawback is the surged pressure on large purchasing centres due to the massive departure of consumers to such big brands. They would, therefore, suffer from the shortage of consumer goods in specific areas which would probably cause the increase in prices of essential products as a result of the increasing demand. Further and more concerning, though, is the devastation of some domestic products. This is mainly due to the fact that a substantial proportion of domestic products are sold by small retailers with a limited budget who cannot afford the fierce competition with large brand names which are attempting to imitate national commodities. International Chinese firms, for example, have been tempting consumers to purchase Egyptian clay pots and offering them in large fancy stores. Accordingly, the end of the activity of local shops could gradually threaten the cultural identity of a country. In addition to this, the attraction of more consumers to purchase from large shopping centres may induce consumerism due to the wide variety and availability of high-quality goods along with discounts and offers which are aimed mainly at attracting more clients. An eminent example of this is the impact of Black Fridays in international shopping centres which lure shoppers to overestimate their needs and pay for unnecessary goods. In conclusion, I am convinced that the threats which have resulted from purchasing mainly from large shops tip the scale towards disadvantages. Subsequently, authorities ought to financially subsidise developing projects in order to maintain countries' cultural identity.