Nowadays, as a part of the education process, students work at a company for a short period of time without pay. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world education curriculum, students work at an organization for a short duration without remuneration. These programs are generally called 'Internship'. This essay will discuss the facts that despite the short-term negative perception they develop about the corporate job environment, the practical knowledge they gain is critical to developing a solid foundation for their future professional career means that the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. One the benefit of internship programs is that it helps gain exposure to the corporate culture and add valuable hands-on experience by working along with tenured colleagues from those companies. Facebook, for example, recruits interns to conduct research on new projects and even offers them full-time jobs based on their performance. Moreover, it helps build a solid foundation and sometimes helps them land full-time job offer from the same company based on their performance. Therefore, I believe the advantages of doing an internship program sets up them for success in future. On the other hand, these short-term work stint creates exposure to not so good side of corporate culture which may negatively impact their perception of working culture in companies. For example, recent research conducted at the University of Toronto indicated that 60% of students found the working environment to be toxic and demotivating. I strongly believe it is a short-lived experience and consequently fades away as they mature. In conclusion, while the benefits of interning help develop a strong base and gain the required knowledge for long-term success, the drawbacks are that in some cases they may undergo a short period of a negative perception of the corporate environment.