In some cities in the world, cars are replacing bicycles. In other cities, however, people are choosing to ride bicycles rather than to drive cars. What are the reasons for these developments? Which development do you think is better?

There are numerous reasons why in some cities society chooses to ride a bicycle, while in other places they prefer to drive a car. In this essay, we will see the reasons behind why such differences in preference and thus come up with a reasoned conclusion. Firstly, one of the main reasons can be the infrastructure of the city. Sometimes it is more suitable for cars to trip around and does not cause traffic conjunctions, while, it is suggested to be more beneficial to use a bike around to avoid the busy city roads. For example, in Holland where the streets are narrow, it is advised to ride a bike around, rather than using a four-wheeler. On the other hand, in cities like New York, Melbourne, and Paris, it is more convenient to take a taxi or trip your own car, because the office and home can be of significant distance. Therefore, it would be easy to pick based on the way the road and the city are designed. Furthermore, sometimes it is a personal preference. Where for many individuals being healthy and doing exercise is of great importance, as a result, they like to take a bike to work or home. This also helps them to save the cost of petrol and parking fees, which is sometimes not only beneficial but necessary. While for some it is a matter of convenience, in order to save time they like to drive from work to house or vice-versa. For instance, I live in the Melbourne suburbs, and my office is an hour's drive from home, therefore I choose to drive to work. It is hard to ignore the benefits of either of the two. In conclusion, switching from cars to bicycles is not just beneficial for individuals but also necessary to reduce carbon-dioxide emissions from our atmosphere, hence, reducing pollution in the air.