Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

It is the fact that humans are responsible for environmental problems and we can definitely take steps to tackle the damage that we cause to the planet. This essay will discuss the environmental problems and measures that governments and individuals can do to reduce them. The two biggest threats that humans cause to damage the environment are air pollution and waste. Firstly, gas emissions from factories and exhaust fumes from vehicles lead to global warming which bring devastating effects on the earth in the future. Additionally, as the population of the world increasingly grows, humans are also producing an ever greater quantity of waste which contaminates the planet and pollutes rivers and oceans. Governments could make more efforts to reduce environmental pollution. They should introduce laws to limit gas emissions from companies and force companies to use renewable energy from solar, wind and water power. Besides, nations could impose ‘green taxes’ on drivers and airline companies. In this way, people are encouraged to use public transportation and take fewer flights abroad, therefore reducing emissions. Every individual should take responsibility for the impact they have on the environment. For example, they could take public transport than drive, choose products with less packaging and recycle as much as possible. Most supermarkets provide reused bags for shoppers and ‘banks’ for glass, plastic and paper in their car parks. It is true that by reusing and recycling, we can help to reduce waste. In conclusion, both national governments and individuals have to play their part to take care of our environment.