It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sports or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Although it is believed that some people that only individuals who are born with talents can do well in sports and music, others think that any child can acquire such skills through training. In my opinion, through practice and determination, any child can become a successful artist or sportsperson. Inborn talents certainly matter. People who are born with a natural aptitude for singing, drawing or sports can acquire proficiency in those fields with relatively less effort. If we consider the examples of great musicians, painters or sportspersons, it is not hard to see that the vast majority of them showed considerable talent in their respective fields in their childhood itself. Obviously, they were born with those skills. However, just because someone is born with a certain talent, it doesn’t mean that they will achieve success in the field. In order to achieve the success they have to hone their skills like everyone else. It is just that achieving success is relatively easier for them. On the other hand, practice makes a man perfect. Even if somebody is not born with exceptional artistic or athletic talents, it is still possible for them to gain excellence in the field of their choice through constant practice. This is because someone who practices a skill certainly has an edge over someone who rarely practices that skill in spite of being born with a special talent for it. For example, research conducted by Sports Authority o India, concluded that any child can develop outstanding skills in sports provided that they are trained well. In other words, practice is the secret to success. To conclude, through consistent practice it is possible for anyone to achieve expertise in arts and sports. This, however, does not mean that inborn skills are irrelevant. They do matter but those born with special talents also need the practice to gain proficiency.