Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, with the popularization of electronic technology, many children have much more opportunities to use smartphones, and some of them will spend a lot of time every day on them due to the compelling content such as games or social media making them addicted. I permanently insist this is a negative development because it is detrimental to children's health and poses a negative impact on their cognitive development. I will explain my view in the following essay. Firstly, playing smartphone for a long time is adverse to those children in their period of growth. For instance, children who spend hours on the screen will strain their eyes seriously which can lead to irreversible damage to their vision. Moreover, scrolling through the screen can make children lose interest in participating in outdoor activities which will deprive them of some opportunities to exercise. Therefore, this makes it clear that playing mobile in excess is harmful to children's wellness. Secondly, the dazzling contents displayed on the screen are not conducive to cultivating kids' cognition. For example, artificial intelligence technology can replace one face in the video with another, those videos will confuse kids and make them believe it's true. Although some cell phones provide parents with a child-lock function to restrict the content that children can access, the kids are always able to find a way to detour it. Consequently, children who spend hours every day are more likely to access inappropriate content which brings disadvantages to their cognitive development. In conclusion, playing excessive time on smartphones will bring an adverse impact on children's health and mental growth. Thus, this phenomenon among children can not be supported.