In many cities, the population is encouraged to use public transportation rather than private transport In your opinion, what are the advantages and disadvantages of using public transport?

In our modern world, governments encourage dwellers to use public transport to get to work instead of private vehicles. While there are some negative sides of this trend but I am of the view that the advantages of public transportation should not be overlooked. To commence with, there are several chief reasons why using public transport might be detrimental. The common one, however, is long waiting times. To be more specific, if commuters do not know the schedule, they have to wait an hour until the next bus or train arrives. As a result, a person who works in one of the prestigious companies might attend an important meeting very late due to the poor public transport system. One other important consideration is that using mass transportation results in serious diseases. For instance, in developed cities, many dwellers go on trains and buses together, and this mainly means the chance to catch the flu and infectious illnesses is much higher compared to going by car. In my opinion, these are the obvious reasons why the majority of individuals choose to get around by private vehicles. Nevertheless, seeing in a positive light, going on mass transportation comes with several valid positives. It is worth considering, global warming has been a mounting concern all around the world. As we know, public transport is more eco-friendly rather than cars. Moreover, many vehicles and motorbikes are used to get from one destination to another. However, those vehicles burn fossil fuels which leads to air pollution. In addition to that, asthma is caused by this trend. I personally believe that using mass transportation can mitigate these issues and we might achieve a liveable future. In conclusion, using public transport has both positive and negative sides in equal measure due to the reasons stated above.