Some people believed that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Punishment is necessary for criminals to deter them from committing the same mistake again and to discourage others to commit the same type of crime. Some people argue that fixed punishments should be given for each type of crime whereas others said the punishment should be adjusted based on circumstances and the underlying motive. I personally believe that fixed punishment can be unfair in certain situations which will be discussed later in this essay. The reason some people prefer fixed punishments for each type of crime is that people will be discouraged to commit the crime as they are aware of what they should expect to receive if they commit the crime. This could probably lead to lesser crime cases in national wide. Also, there will be fewer administrative matters since all the laws and regulations have been publicized. On the other hand, it is not reasonable to penalise without considering the circumstances and motive of the crime. Some criminals may accidentally commit the crime with no original intention. For example, a teenager accidentally kills to defend a man who sexually insults her. In this regard, she shouldn’t get the same death sentence as the others who commit murder brutally. In addition, it is the responsibility of legal professionals to serve society by making proper judgements and penalising accordingly. With a fixed punishment, the role of legal professionals will be banished. In conclusion, a fixed punishment is not appropriate. A proper penalty should be given based on circumstances and motives with careful consideration and judgment from legal professionals.