The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

As of late, there has been nearly a 20% increase in the percentage of obese children in the Western world. Two major reasons why there is a rise in the percentage of obese children are early addiction to devices and unhealthy diets. The effects of this are obviously detrimental and mostly related to childrengʻs health and development. In the last few decades, technological devices have become a bigger part of peopleʼs lives, including children ʼs routines. It is not uncommon anymore to see a child having access to phones and computers. When children are allowed to use technology from an early age, they are more likely to get addicted and, as a result, lead to a more sedentary lifestyle. Obviously, this means a child is more likely to get obese and lead a more isolated life, which in turn, does not only harm the child physically but mentally as well. Technology is not the only reason, however. The other cause of an increase in the number of obese children is the impact of fast food. The Western world is where fast food originated and became popular. McDonaldʼs and KFC are just two of many influential fast- food chains that can be used as examples in the given discussion. What is important to note is that these eateries are popular among children who see fast food as more attractive than other healthy options. Fast food, as a rule, is not rich in certain vitamins, which means children who primarily eat fast food are less likely to maintain a healthy diet. As a consequence, they gain extra weight because they do not get a balanced mix of nutritional elements. To conclude, the issue of increased obesity among children is directly linked to the influence of technology and the avoidance of healthy diets. The consequences are compromised health, both physical and mental, which can have a long-term effect on a childʼs future.