Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Sport has always been very socially important for every country and also internationally for political arguments. In this era and age, some nations decided to focus more on specialised facilities to develop top athletes rather than give sport facilities to the entire population. In my opinion, this is a negative decision even if it can lead to important results in global competitions. This essay analyses the benefits of this action, such as the increment of top athletes and the international fame of the country, compared with their drawbacks. Respectively the loss of interest by people, especially children and the bad impacts on society. First of all, building new specialised structures is an optimal method to create new sport professionists. However, analysing the long term effects, if there are no public buildings that permits every individual to practise these activities we will also not have attention and interest in them. Moreover, this situation will lead to a lack of people who want to become real athletes and do these kinds of sports as a job. Football, for example, had the power, during the second war world, to stop murders and unite everyone. If we remove the normal practitioners we will lose the beautiful and true power that they have. In addition, sports are born as recreational time to give happiness to the society, which can release the daily stress through them.Indeed, research conducted by universities prove that people consider sports as their main vehicle to escape from reality and to release endorphins. Thus, medals and cups are not useful to achieve this goal. Nations should keep in mind the real scope of these activities and encourage people to practise them and not reduce their opportunity to enter in contact with them. To conclude, we should teach who has the authority to decide which facilities and for whom to build, how sports are important for the society and how they are a right for the population.