Some people think that zoo are cruel and all zoos should closed.However, some people think zoo can help protect animals Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Many consider that zoos are brutal for animals and should not exist. However, others believe that zoos are indispensable to protect animals; in my view, the size criteria of zoos should be decided, which allows for more comfortable environments and protection of animals at the same time. On the one hand, opponents insist that most animals in zoos live in small enclosures and cages, where animals are deprived of many things that are important to them, and these unnatural environments make them feel lonely and bored, which leads to psychosis. Moreover, zoos usually group animals from many different parts of the world with very distinct immunological systems. Consequently, diseases spread inside zoos easily and many animals get sick and die. Additionally, animal cruelty at the hands of zoo keepers, staff and visitors have often been reported but most cases have not been revealed or punished. On the other hand, supporters explain that zoos offer safe environments which are crucial for endangered species. Zoos allow for not only entertainment but also more awareness and funding for wildlife initiatives and research. More importantly, professionally-run breedings and rehabilitation programmes are provided by vets and biologists. Zoos study animal breeding and animals in captivity are now reproductible. This is particularly important in the case of endangered species. Due to the low density of the population of some animals in their natural ecosystems, they struggle to find partners. Finally, in my opinion, some species, especially endangered species, can not survive by themselves and need help. However, the majority of zoos have insufficient space and budget, which causes a lot of problems. Therefore, the size criteria of zoos should be ruled by the government, which allows animals to feel their natural habitats and prevent psychosis. To conclude, although animals tend to suffer from zoo environments to a certain extent, I believe that zoos have an essential role to protect animals from extinction and some large zoos can solve the problems.