Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that these days a significant percentage of kids use phones and tablets for a long time daily, which has become a viral habit. The question is, is it considered a useful or harmful habit? In this essay, I am going to discuss this subject and draw my conclusion. In terms of causes, some parents allow their children to spend hours using phones, either to watch videos on YouTube or play games, without caring about the consequences of this action. The main reason given to support this claim is that many kids lost the ability to communicate with their society because they used to be alone, neither speaking with parents nor friends. To illustrate, a study report published in 2019 by the University of East London described the effect of using smartphones on young kids, and it was shown that they had several social communication issues. However, smartphones can be utilized as an educational tool, which can help kids to improve in various aspects. Firstly, in many nations, the government started to replace books and heavy studying materials with e-books. Take, for example, many schools in Egypt provided tablets instead of books to tackle the complications of carrying a lot of books, which are causing physical pains for some toddlers. Secondly, many wise parents began a creative idea, that they encourage their boys and girls to practice a new language by watching online videos. Therefore, they can guide their consumption and make great use of it. In conclusion, although, smartphones are generally used for leisure activities, they can be the most substantial tool to learn. Therefore, my perspective is that this technology will be an essential piece of equipment for our next generation's improvement.