Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There are some nations where military service is compulsory for teenagers just after they finish high school, either men or women. I disagree with this policy because some people are not prepared to do this kind of training and some of them do not have the required skills. To begin, the main problem is the fact of forcing anyone around 18 years old to attend the Armed Forces. Some people perhaps do not like this type of service or sometimes do have not the proper physical abilities. As a result, these people will become bad soldiers and others cannot be selected. For example, in Brazil, when a boy complete 18 years old, he has to apply for compulsory military service. The majors are dismissed, by chance, due to the limitation of vacations. So, some people more prepared to do this service cannot attend, whereas others not prepared can be chosen. Moreover, this period of working for the Armed Forces can difficult for further studies to enrol on a university. Considering that the usual time for this compulsory job is around 1 year, people have to wait this time to apply for tertiary education. As a consequence, these young men will be late to attend university and work in the future. On the other hand, there are some benefits to adopting this system, especially in developing countries where there are few options for further education. So, the military service can be an opportunity for poor people to begin a career. Additionally, military service is a good way to make new friends and learn some values such as honour, discipline, and responsibility. To conclude, I believe that this sort of service should be optional. Only men or women that like this area should do it. In this way, the results for the country will be better and people will attend more happily.