Some people think that governments should be responsible for carrying out and controlling scientific research rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is sure that science plays a fundamental role in the country's development. There is a school of thought, arguing that the government is obliged to conduct and control scientific research instead of the private company. I disagree with this claim. Those people in favor of government dominant role in scientific research consider the duty and power of authority. Science and technology are developing fast if a country wants to be economically strong then it must keep up with these developments. It is supported that government should take their responsibility in conducting scientific research and pioneering in technological innovations in order to thriving economy and society. Besides that, science is a complicated subject as it develops so quickly that constantly need new resources and stable fundings. It is governments, raising money by taxing income, that have adequate and stable budget that can support long term scientific research. However, this doesn’t mean that a vast majority of scientific activities should be controlled by governments without the participation of private companies. It will put a heavy burden on financial budget so that the government will have to cut down its investment to other sectors such as education, health care, which may pose a negative effect on people’s living standards. Furthermore, private corporations with purposes of earning profit generally have sharp market insights and competitiveness that the administrations do not have. The competition between companies serve a useful function of accelerating the speed of technological innovations and leading them into market with lower prices, in order to benefit the people. Besides that, private companies are typically professional with more powerful research team and experts, offering technical assistance. Therefore, they tend to achieve a more significant result than the governments. In conclusion, despite the indispensable role of the authority, l believe it is the private enterprise take a leading part in scientific research. Government should play an important role in encouraging and supporting the companies and organization on the society to make a joint effort in the developing science and technology.