In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others.

the development in technology and the appearance of hi-tech gadgets have soared society toward less in-personal communication for various purposes. while this trend is fruitful in some cases, it can be detrimental in the long run. In this essay, I will explain why. on one hand, the internet has facilitated different aspects of our life. we can conveniently enrol in online courses in a university across the world and boost our knowledge without many troubles. for example, abundant workshops are available at the prominent University of Harvard presenting skills and certifications that would definitely enhance someone's resume and work scope. with the internet, participating in these classes is possible. moreover, it is an evident fact that commuting to work is a time-consuming process that can be easily surmounted via the Internet, increasing remote work and declining traffic congestion. furthermore, due to globalization, many people are living distantly from their family and friends. the utilization of the Internet can bring these people together and cut the expenditures on transportation. however, mankind is a sociable creature hence, a lack of face-to-face communication will gradually decrease our closeness, cordiality, and interpersonal skills, leading to depression and a sense of isolation. As an example, we can see that students living in dormitories constantly keep in touch with their beloved ones through the Internet, they, however, complain about the loneliness they have to overcome in those years. additionally, many features that are presented in face-to-face communication are not yet available for online ones. For instance, many residents prefer to try their new clothes on before purchasing them while through online shopping it is impossible and the colour and size can be relatively different from what they tended to be. in conclusion, even though the internet and its relatable gadgets have improved significantly in our time, it can not be a complete substitution for human in-person interaction and can inflict irrecoverable damages.