With the increase in computer use, many people feel that schools do not need to put the emphasis that they used to on basic handwriting skills or mathematics skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the computer era changed the necessary skills for people, and it is often argued that there is already no need to learn basic handwriting or mathematics skills in school. I particularly agree with this statement but in my opinion, basic skills are still vital and it is impossible to give good education without these skills. On the one hand, in the modern world handwriting uses less and less, and people more often use typing on the keyboard when they want to write something, by reason that typing is faster, and usually looks more clearly than manuscripts. For example, before the invention of the printing press books primarily was created by handwriting, and needed a lot of people who has the skill of clear handwriting for the production of books. But now, when books produce by printers, this skill is not so popular at all as in previous times. On the other hand, for research science, mathematics skills are significant and it is impossible to imagine a scientist or engineer who does not know basic mathematics. For instance, when people are able to automatize some processes, it is crucial to understand the basic principles of that automatization. Of course, computers have much better mathematics abilities than humans, but for creating the logic of these computers, it is obligatory to have mathematics skills. In conclusion, in my point of view, some skills like handwriting become less needed because of technical progress and the invention of new methods of writing, but some of the skills stay constant for a long time. Who knows, maybe somewhen in the future, basic mathematics skills also will be useless.