Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this competitive world, all the countries try to give the best support for their athletes, even though the government should spend a lot of money to train the player. However, others think that it is better to build sports facilities for the public rather than just for athlete training. There are not only benefits but also drawbacks for countries that spend much of their budget on preparing athletes for international championships. I do believe that allocating a budget for player training is worthwhile,especially for the country's pride. First and foremost, the advantage of building specific facilities for athletes ' training is to support them to be well prepared before the international game. It is fact that excellent facilities and training help athletes to have outstanding performances in championships and reach medals. As the result, winning the international sports competition is essential for the country's pride in the global community. Taking an example, badminton athletes in Indonesia get a lot of support from the government which helps them to focus on the competition so they can be winners in the championship. On the contrary, the disadvantage is normally government spend a lot of money on athlete training. Meanwhile, the budget can be allocated for building sports facilities which are more accessible to society. For instance, providing a gym and sports yard which is free access for all ages. This idea will be more impactful for citizens to support them in having good habits in sports. To summarize, the positive is to prepare the athlete to reach the medals which can boost the country's pride, nevertheless, the negative is the cost of athlete training which is too much and can be allocated for building public facilities. Nonetheless, I think the budget for athlete facilities is worth the country's bargaining position in the global community.