Some universities now offer all their courses online instead of providing traditional in-person classes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this change?

In recent years, the rapid expansion of modern technology has transformed the education sector. Many universities are providing virtual classes rather than giving preference to in-person classes. While this trend undoubtedly brings numerous benefits, it also gives rise to several pressing concerns that need careful consideration. It is evident that the pros of online classes are significant. Firstly, it allows students to study from anywhere in the world without relocating, which makes it easily accessible for all children who live in underprivileged areas, as well as in different areas of the world. Additionally, online education provides them with a flexible schedule, particularly since students can create their own timetable, which is favourable for them, and they can even involve their parents in their work. Besides that, virtual classes reduce the cost of commuting, accommodation, and several other aspects required for education. For instance, a student from a different country travels to other places for education, and they have a lot of expenditures such as rent for a flat, food, transportation, and so on. However, digital classes provide flexibility as well as lessen financial strain. Despite having various positives, the drawbacks of this phenomenon can not be overlooked. Perhaps the most pressing is face-to-face interaction with their teachers and peers, which may negatively affect communication skills. This not only exacerbates the social interaction but also makes them introverted. To exemplify, in Universities, there are different communities of students who are studying, where they learn different cultures and various languages, which boost their productivity and cognitive development. Another concern is that some fields, such as medical and engineering, require practical work, which is not done by virtual classes. Moreover, online learning takes away students from extracurricular activities, particularly reducing their strength and motivation. In conclusion, online learning benefits are undeniable in terms of easy accessibility, flexibility, and cost-effectiveness, yet it also threatens communication skills and social interaction. It is like a mix of good and not –so – good.In my opinion, we should ignore this idea. We need to understand both good and bad parts to make smart choices in our changing world.