The media should include more positive stories and reduce reporting of crimes and violence. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is considerable disagreement over whether the media should include more positive stories and reduce reports on crime and violence. From my perspective, I disagree with reducing crime reporting. Addmittedly, good news plays a constructive role in society. This is due to the fact that positive stories can reduce public anxiety, especially in difficult times. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, reports on medical workers’ dedication and community support comforted people and strengthened collective resilience. T However,the advantage of reporting crimes is more greater,one of which is that it could help improve public awareness and self-protection, especially for young people. This is because traditional guidance from parents or teachers may not always influence young people, but crime reports highlight real dangers, such as organ trafficking or youth-targeted violent crimes. By learning about such crimes, young people can develop a deeper understanding of societal risks and take measures to avoid or protect themselves from potentially fatal harm. Another advantage of Crime reporting is that it can encourages governments to prevent and control violent crimes, strengthen public security, and curb the spread of violence. Generally speaking, crime reporting make the public understand social safety and allows the media to perform its supervisory role. In-depth coverage of past cases can deter potential offenders, reduce crime rates, and maintain social stability. In conclusion, despite the benefits of positive stories in reducing public anxiety and fostering hope, I remain convinced that reporting crimes is more important, It raises people ’s awareness of social risks and helps them protect themselves, while also encouraging governments to take effective measures against violent crime, thereby contributing to social stability.