Most high level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

In the corporate world, it has been noted that a sizeable amount of high-level positions are filled by men, in spite of the fact that the workforce in a lot of developed nations is more than 50% female. It is believed by some that companies should be mandated to allocate a specified percentage of these positions to women. While I strongly agree that doing this will provide more women with as many opportunities as men to reach the highest levels possible in their careers, I believe that there should be checks and balances in place to ensure that such a mandate does not perpetuate the same imbalance it is being put in place to fight. It is important for white-collar organizations, which have long operated with a systemic prejudice against women, to be deliberate about abolishing this misogynistic approach to workplace promotion that has marginalised women for so long. Mandating companies to allocate a certain percentage of executive roles to females will ensure that women are given a chance and supported to attain the highest levels of their careers. Doing this is tantamount to providing women with equal access and opportunities. Furthermore, this benefits companies in the long term in terms of efficiency as women have been identified by many studies to be better managers. For example, studies carried out by Harvard Business School have shown that companies that have women in managerial or executive roles have shown more growth than those that are male-dominated. This is a win-win situation for both companies and the female workforce. However, to avoid perpetuating the same systemic imbalance it is trying to fight - this time against men, it is important to have checks and balances. For instance, in a case where a man is more qualified and skilled to fill an executive position, it will be unfair to the man and against a business' interest to have to choose a less qualified woman solely because they are required to do so. For every system that is being instituted, equity and fairness must be considered. To conclude, I strongly agree that companies should be required to allocate a sizable amount of executive roles to women but there must be checks and balances in place to ensure fairness.