Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Today, it is true that self-employment is a more preferable choice among most individuals in comparison to working for an enterprise. The main reasons for this development are independence and job security, but self-employed individuals can suffer from a lack of corporate support and a heavy volume of work. There are several reasons why today more and more people prefer working on their own to working for an employer. One major factor is that self-employed people can have a flexible work schedule. In other words, they tend to tailor their working time, meaning that they can feel a more sense of freedom as opposed to those who work for a company. Another reason is job security. Company workers can be dismissed due to bankruptcy, economic downfalls and many other reasons. In contrast, those who pursue a career on their own in one particular job can last as much as they want since there is no person who can fire or replace them at the workplace. For instance, freelancers, as a rule, make money doing clients’ jobs simultaneously for a short period, and they can spend enough time on other affairs, such as family and personal matters. Nevertheless, people who work themselves can also face some issues during their career path. One major difficulty is that they can face financial difficulties or even lose their job if they stop working for a while. To be more precise, when they become sick or have an emergency, they are not supported financially. However, in most companies, employees have sick pay, holiday pays, or even sometimes female employees are paid during maternity leave. Another drawback is that self-employed individuals are deprived of being surrounded by colleagues. As a result, they cannot feel a sense of belonging by which their work productivity can become worse. To conclude, although independently working individuals can benefit from flexible working and a secure job position, they can also face some challenges which include a lack of friendly working environment and too much responsibility on themselves.