Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar; which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Most diseases are closely related to how the patients eat. Being addicted to sugar is deemed a contributing factor to obesity. It is claimed that putting a higher sugar tax is an effective way to fight against it. However, in the following essay, I would elaborate on the reason why I disagree with this way of reducing carbohydrates. To begin with, it can cause serious fluctuations in food prices. Raising the price of sugar can impact many relevant products such as cakes or beverages because it is a fundamental substance to many foods. For instance, many food stands in Taiwan provide their customers with drinks as a side dish, if the price is raised, they must also lift the price of every meal to sustain the service. Another reason that reducing carbohydrate consumption by tax can be detrimental is its ineffectiveness. Though sugar can be one of the factors that lead to unhealthy body shapes, excessive consumption of oil or salt can also lead to health issues. For example, some diets might ask people to consume more oily foods instead of sugary ones, claiming that this can help with lowering blood sugar. Nevertheless, though blood sugar can be reduced to some degree, the patients may still suffer from obesity due to imbalanced diets. In other words, Reducing sweet foods is not the only key to resolving health problems. In conclusion, although consuming too many sweets can be the major factor that causes obesity, the way of raising sugar prices is far more impractical and might lead to a severe impact on food prices as a whole.