Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favour of them because of their benefits to humanity. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a long-standing debate about animal testing. Some believe that animal testing is indispensable for medical developments, while others insist that it should be prohibited to protect animal rights; in my view, both perspectives are persuasive and individual emotion is another factor to evaluate animal testing. On the one hand, animal experiments have contributed to medical developments to a large extent. For instance, many treatments, including cancer, HIV drugs and vaccines have been made by animal testing and these developments have improved human’s health and have extended human’s life spans. This is why scientific communities and many public members support animal testing, even though some of them are against animal testing for cosmetics. Moreover, animals, which are often used in experiments, are considered to be the closest match and the best one with regard to applying data to humans. Therefore, animal testing reduces the risk of new drugs prior to commencing trials on humans. On the other hand, in animal experiments, countless animals are utilized and killed after their use. Others are injured and will still live the remainder of their life in captivity. In other words, animal rights do not exist. The unfortunate aspect is that many animals received tests for substances which will never actually see approval or public consumption and use. It seems that animals died in vain because no benefits to humans occurred. Many opponents have condemned this reality. Additionally, animal testing does not guarantee the safety of new drugs due to the different ecosystems between humans and animals. In my opinion, while there are numerous pros and cons of animal testing, the ethical aspect overshadows both views, which means that emotion may be the ultimate determining factor whether a person believes the benefits of animal testing overweigh the problems associated with the practice. To conclude, the controversy over animal experiments is very competitive but I believe that the value of animal testing depends on individuals.