As House is a basic need for people, government should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it, to what extent do you agree or disagree.

A Place of shelter is one of the basic necessities, for a person to sustain livelihood. A significant number of people believe that the ministry should offer free accommodation to all the members of society who are not able to buy houses by themselves. I partially advocate the statement. This essay will cover the benefits and drawbacks of providing free shelter to community members with relevant examples. To commence with, the advantages of offering free shelters are two-fold. Firstly, this will help to reduce poverty in the country. There are numerous countries especially developing nations suffer from enormous problems of scarcity. Therefore, the ministry should come up with policies to help underprivileged folks to provide home subsidies. Thus the nation will gradually get rid of its biggest problem of poorness. To exemplify, it has been observed that 55 per cent of people are under the poverty line that cannot provide a household for their family. Secondly, it will help to reduce the crime rate. It has been observed that people in need are involved in crimes because of not having their own living residence and lack of economic opportunities. To expand, Poors will do anything to steal valuable things that they are not able to afford. Furthermore, apart from the advantages of giving to residents who are in need as mentioned above, there are some disadvantages that cannot be ignored. To begin with, by providing residence mankind will become dependent. In other words, humankind will become lazy, as no labour and hard work will be required to occupy a shelter. Moreover, for the construction of buildings, large land will be required. As urban areas have limited residential areas, the government has to clear the green earth to build new homes which will create deforestation. To recapitulate, having considered the above points, I believe that offering no-cost residence to some families as it aids poverty and crimes. However, the government should enforce some laws in order to overcome the above demerits.