Universities should be concerned with educating people so that they have wide general knowledge and be able to , consider important matters from an informed viewpoint, and not simply prepare students for jobs required by society. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Higher education should not only prepare students with specific skills to perform in their fields but also employ a more interdisciplinary approach in regard to other important issues that contribute to society. In this,essay we will discuss why it is essential to provide people with general instead of particular knowledge only. Firstly, It is supremely important to provide students with the most precise and detailed information required to master their professions. Moreover, it is knowns that some careers demand accurate preparation, for example, a doctor, a pilot, an architect, a civil engineer. Hence, students must prioritise what is essential to develop and excel in their careers when graduating from school. On the other hand, despise some professions requiring specific training, individuals also need to have a general understanding of different subjects non-related to their own field. For example, nutrition, sociology, and physical education, to name a few, are important topics for personal development and creating a successful society. For instance, a nutritionist should have a basic understanding of art as well as an architect should also know basic psychology, so that they can make better decisions and also utilize all the information in their daily interactions and professional decisions. Therefore, I strongly agree with the idea that academic preparation should be whole and comprehensive. Educational institutions are mostly concerned to provide their alumni with tools to succeed in their own areas, however, more complete instruction could be more beneficial and necessary to complement their careers as well as to contribute to their communities. Hence, the teaching approaches must comprehend different and relevant matters.