In the 20th century, contact between different parts of the world has developed rapidly thanks to air travel and telecommunications. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It was the breakthrough in air travel and telecommunications in the 20th century, that contributed to a better connection between continents. In order to decide whether this phenomenon is a positive one or not it is worth discussing both, its pros and cons. On the one hand, people have obtained the opportunity to explore the world, getting acquainted with foreigners, their culture, traditions, cuisine, etc. Not only does travelling expand the horizons but also watching TV programs related to this topic can enrich knowledge and teach people to be tolerant and respectful towards multiple cultures. Another obvious advantage is connected with the field of international trade, which also has become easier due to facilitated air connectivity between different parts of the world. Therefore, people across the globe consume foreign food like coffee or bananas on a daily basis, which used to be a delicacy before. On the other hand, citizens of numerous countries are losing their local culture, undergoing the process of globalization. It is especially noticeable in developing countries, which cannot afford to support their own cultures, at the same time, receive access to the Western one. As a result, the most vulnerable representatives, usually the youth, absorb foreign values, follow the Western lifestyle, having watching Hollywood films. To some extent, this development reduces discrepancies between cultures, making them similar and consequently decreasing diversity. In conclusion, taking into account the above-mentioned benefits and flaws, I am firmly convinced that the former outweighs the latter. The opportunities humanity has received are essential for numerous people across the globe whereas finding an appropriate solution could allow minimizing the drawback of globalization.