Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives?

Traditions are usually associated with the past, while innovation is synonymous with the future, and there is a belief that people need to give up traditions in order to focus on achieving progress. I mostly disagree with the given view because certain traditions are valuable and benefit the lives of people. The role of traditions as principles and features of one ’s unique culture must remain. Even though some traditions are viewed as irrelevant in the 21st century, there are many that help people mentally and spiritually while also potentially improving human lives. One example can be family gatherings, which are one of the most essential parts of Central Asian cultures, including the Uzbek one. Such meetings between relatives help strengthen the bonds, which, in turn, improves relationships and prevents isolation. Letting go of such a tradition would be an unhealthy decision since more people would be likely to lead alienated lifestyles. Traditions are customs that have been followed for many years. They are parts of a system that operates as a set of beliefs that a person needs to follow. Similar to a timetable a modern human follows to complete tasks on a daily basis, traditions are principles that help people live responsibly. In addition, traditions are crucial because they represent a culture and help distinguish people from one another. This is particularly important in this new era when the world is turning into a global village where people speak, dress and act alike. To conclude, there are traditions that cannot be viewed negatively. They are the ones that preserve cultures and help people organize their lives properly. Abandoning traditions is not always a benefit, and progress can be achieved without letting go of customs.