Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

Riding a bicycle is good for our health and it is an environment-friendly mode of transportation. However, it is still not popular in many countries. This essay will discuss some of the reasons for this drift and several suggestions to encourage more people to use bicycles. In several countries, fewer people use bicycles these days than at any time in history. This is because many people still believe that riding a bicycle is only a sporting or recreational activity, and for commuting they need to ride on buses, trains or drive their automobiles. Secondly, since many city areas do not have any dedicated bicycle lanes, people find it risky to ride bicycles in busy streets. Without the existence of a separate bicycle lane, some people think that cycling to work would be dangerous as they have to share the road with car commuters and motorcyclists. The government can contribute significantly to persuade people to ride bicycles. One of the solutions is to provide separate cycling lanes for cyclists. Sufficient bicycle lanes in a city will encourage many residents to ride it for their daily commuting. Denmark, for example, has extensive bicycling lanes and that has positively encouraged citizens to cycle whenever possible. Another solution could be encouraging and informing people by launching campaigns about the positive health and environmental effects of cycling. Finally, government officials should set examples by using it daily while commuting to their workplaces. If government authorities ride cycles to offices, it is hoped that the public will also follow the example. In conclusion, cycling is still not widely prevalent in many countries. It is because of the mindset of the people who believe that cycling is a just sport. Besides, cycling lanes are not available in their countries as well. The government should take initiatives like building dedicated cycling lanes and running awareness campaigns to convince people to ride bicycles.